Faculty

Ahmed H. al-Rahim

Associate Professor, Director of Islamic Studies
434-924-6709
aa3wn@virginia.edu

Elizabeth Shanks Alexander

Professor
434-924-6711
esa3p@virginia.edu

Michael S. Allen

Assistant Professor
434-924-8311
msa2b@virginia.edu

Jessica Andruss

Assistant Professor, Mellon Fellow, Institute of the Humanities and Global Cultures
434-924-6714
jha9s@virginia.edu

Asher D. Biemann

Professor
434-924-3643
ab5j@virginia.edu

Larry Bouchard

Professor
434-924-6710
ldb4k@virginia.edu

Erik Braun

Associate Professor, Director of Graduate Studies
434-924-0846
ecb2j@virginia.edu

Ashon Crawley

Associate Professor

atc8g@virginia.edu

Kathleen Flake

Richard Lyman Bushman Professor of Mormon Studies
434-924-6725
kathleen.flake@virginia.edu

Nichole M. Flores

Assistant Professor
434-243-3937
nichole.flores@virginia.edu

Jennifer L. Geddes

Associate Professor
434-924-6648
jlg2u@virginia.edu

David Germano

Professor
434-924-6728
dfg9w@virginia.edu

Greg Schmidt Goering

Associate Professor, Daniels Family NEH Distinguished Teaching Professor 2017-2020
434-924-6721
goering@virginia.edu

Mark Hadley

Associate Professor
434-924-3350
mah2ar@virginia.edu

Martien Halvorson-Taylor

Associate Professor, Associate Chair
434-924-6723
maht@virginia.edu

Kevin Hart

Edwin B Kyle Professor of Christian Studies
434-924-1097
kjh9u@virginia.edu

Larycia Hawkins

Assistant Professor

Matthew Hedstrom

Associate Professor
434-924-6314
hedstrom@virginia.edu

Natasha Heller

Associate Professor
434-924-9390
nheller@virginia.edu

Cynthia Hoehler-Fatton

Associate Professor
434-243-9671
chh3a@virginia.edu

Willis Jenkins

Professor
434-924-3184
willis.jenkins@virginia.edu

Paul Dafydd Jones

Associate Professor; Co-Director, The Project on Religion and its Publics
434-982-2283
pdj5c@virginia.edu

Sonam Kachru

Assistant Professor
434-982-6217
sk3hp@virginia.edu

Charles Marsh

Commonwealth Professor of Religious Studies; Director, Project on Lived Theology
434-924-6839
crm3p@virginia.edu

Charles Mathewes

Carolyn M. Barbour Professor of Religious Studies
434-924-6708
ctm9d@virginia.edu

Shankar Nair

Assistant Professor
434-924-8884
san2k@virginia.edu

John Nemec

Associate Professor
434-924-6716
jwn3y@virginia.edu

Peter Ochs

Edgar M. Bronfman Professor of Modern Judaic Studies
434-924-6718
pochs@virginia.edu

Vanessa Ochs

Professor
434-924-6722
vanessa@virginia.edu

Oludamini Ogunnaike

Assistant Professor of African Religious Thought and Democracy

oo4qw@virginia.edu

Kai Parker

Assistant Professor of African American Religious History

kp5gj@virginia.edu

John E. Portmann

Professor
434-243-5537
jep7a@virginia.edu

Kurtis R. Schaeffer

Frances Myers Ball Professor and Department Chair
434-924-3770
ks6bb@virginia.edu

Jalane Schmidt

Associate Professor
434-924-1061
jds7b@virginia.edu

Michael Sheehy

Research Assistant Professor

ms4qm@virginia.edu

Karl Shuve

Associate Professor, Director of Undergraduate Program
434-924-6712
kes3ba@virginia.edu

Janet Spittler

Associate Professor

jes9cu@virginia.edu

Heather Warren

Associate Professor
434-924-6719
haw6w@virginia.edu