Areas of Study

The PhD program in Religious Studies provides professional training for a career in the scholarly study of religion, usually through a college or university professorship. The program is divided into four major areas, listed below, each with particular sub-areas. Students apply to these specific areas for admission, and their course of study is governed by the particular requirements of their chosen area and sub-area.

I. Historical Studies

Faculty: Alexander, Andruss, Flake, Fogarty, Goering, Halvorson-Taylor, Hedstrom, Shuve, Spittler, Warren

II. History of Religions

  • African Religions
  • Buddhism
  • Daoism
  • Hinduism
  • Indian Religions 

Faculty: Braun, GermanoHeller, Hoehler-Fatton, Kachru, Nair, Nemec, Schaeffer, Schmidt

III. Scripture, Interpretation and Practice

Faculty: al-Rahim, Alexander, Biemann, BouchardGoering, Nair, P. Ochs, V. Ochs

IV. Theology, Ethics, and Culture

  • Philosophical Theology
  • Religious Ethics
  • Religion and Culture

Faculty: Biemann, Bouchard, CrawleyFlores, Geddes, Jenkins, Jones, Marsh, Mathewes, P. Ochs